The book is here!

After months of gestation, proofing, image capturing, indexing and blah blah blah, the book is finally out! A textbook for journalism writing classes aimed at preparing journos for writing for digital environments, media and devices, Writing for Digital Media was created for UNC’s JoMC 711, also called Writing for Digital Media.

So many made this book possible: Dean emeritus Richard Cole of UNC’s J School, Paul Jones, Louise Spieler, Rachel Lillis and Deb Aikat, all also of the School of Journalism & Mass Communication; John Conway at WRAL.com in Raleigh, N.C.; Ryan Tuck at the New York Times; Matt Byrnie at Routledge; former students Danny Lineberry and Marcie Barnes; Bob Frank, Diane Land and Nicole NeSmith at Berry; and of course the many students of JoMC 711, whose collective intelligence and wisdom of the crowds heavily influenced this work.

6 Responses to The book is here!

  1. ben says:

    Good work Dr. Carroll!

  2. Julie Maness says:

    I just received my copy from Amazon this week. Looks great! Congratulations!

  3. Thanks for the good vibes, guys. Julie, you’re my first known customer — thank you!

  4. Claire says:

    I’m taking some tentative steps towards freelance writing for the web – I’ve just secured some work to maintain content for a public sector website and am looking for a book to help me learn about writing for the web. I’m UK-based. I’m really taken with the content of your book – does it translate equally for the UK market?

    Many thanks,

    Claire

    • Hello Claire,
      I believe it would.

      Most of the examples I use are from the States, but the content, including the principles and skill sets, all should translate without a problem. Shoot me an email and I could send you a sample chapter to preview. >> bc@berry.edu

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

